Thursday, July 24, 2008

The Virginia Tech incident


rest in peace, to those who were victims of cho's.

i'm not judging, i'm not siding, nor am i putting down my personal opinion of this incident.

an·ti·so·cial [an-tee-soh-shuhl, an-tahy-] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation

–adjective
1.unwilling or unable to associate in a normal or friendly way with other people: He's not antisocial, just shy.
2.antagonistic, hostile, or unfriendly toward others; menacing; threatening: an antisocial act.
3.opposed or detrimental to social order or the principles on which society is constituted: antisocial behavior.
4.Psychiatry. of or pertaining to a pattern of behavior in which social norms and the rights of others are persistently violated.

[dictionary.com]

could we blame this state of mind, to support cho's actions?
he was known to be a 'loner', etc. but the reason being.. was it because he was different from the students of virginia tech? or was it because the students of virginia tech chose not to accept him as an individual himself? or was it simply because cho chose to block out everyone from his life?
i'm pretty sure nobody wants to be alone. being alone is the most painful state of mind.. to know that nobody is there for yu.. to know that nobody cares.

yes, we all sympathize the victims of cho's massacre.. but has nobody come around to sympathizing the reasons of why he's done it? or why he resorted in choosing to killing all the innocent people?
pressure from parents, maybe? suffering from depression? was too alone - reason being to growing hatred towards everyone?
cho was 'unknown' and 'random' to a lot of students in virginia tech..
but ask yurself. why was it that cho chose to do what he did?

IF SO, i'm not saying it's my personal opinion. however.. IF, this 'anti-social' behavior was the reason to cho's actions..
then didn't the students of virginia tech trigger cho's psychotic behavior?
hmm. just saying.
just having a look at the other side of the story, which, the media didn't portray.

that's why we all think the way we think. we're too caught up by the media, and possibly its biased opinions and thoughts.

oh, don't forget exaggeration.
anyhow, i'll apologize if i've offended anyone.

************************************************************************************

anti-social behavior is simply how people deal with a certain tradgedy, influence, or some kind of event that has effected them.
depression, isolation, violent behavior, resulting to drugs & alcohol, bullying, etc..
these are all actions catagorized under 'anti-social' behavior. they don't put it on themselves.. people and/or things around them, that influences them do. but the hard thing is.. did the chicken come first? or the egg?
did they do something that made themself an anti-social person, or did they become anti-social because of things and/or people around them?
hmm.. yet again, the ones with the heart of gold approach them, and try to give them some human communication in one way or another, simply by saying

"Hi."

sometimes.. yu get a negative response. ignorance? simplified answers? people always question the good behavior.

say a girl yu've never spoken to before, but know by face, came up to yu, and gave yu a little something.. like a chocolate bar.
do yu happily take it?
or do yu hesitate, and wonder why she gave yu the chocolate bar?

"why is she being nice to me?"

then yu start thinking cynically, questioning the good. does she want something? does she want to say something? why did she give the chocolate to yu?
yu see.. celebrities do that all the time. once they've put themselves in an awkward position.. once they've put themselves as a target for the paparazzi for the wrong reasons.. they turn to charity work, or donation to the poor, or some kind of organisation that is charitable. why? it makes them look better, and they think that they may get away with whatever the reason the paparazzi is chasing their asses for!
we all know, sometimes.. it's hard to tell whether a person is doing a good deed because they want to, or because they're making themselves look good. as hard as it sounds.. some people who donate huge amounts of money to the charity, may not even care about them, or even have any knowledge of them whatsoever.
people from poor, undeveloped countries cannot possibly imagine how our lives work. or how we live our everyday lives, around luxurious items, services, and satisfaction.

everyone knows what the 'EXTRA' gum looks like..? the one that comes in a few flavors.. honey lemon, sweet mint, strawberry, etc.

yes, that one.

anyhow, we simply consume the gum pallets inside it, and once we're finished with the packet.. we throw it away.
yu see.. my mum's friend went to cambodia last year, and once she finished the packet, she threw it away. a little kid who lives in cambodia, picked it up from the rubbish bin.. and used it as a wallet.
a gum packet?
as a wallet?

..do we still know how to appreciate what we've got?


No comments: